Spring Gala Live Auction

2014 gala eviteticket image


In addition to the opportunity to give to the Holden Fund, we will hold a live auction with four valuable items!


David Haynes Reviews Your Fiction Manuscript

Fiction Manuscript Review

Award-winning author and MFA Program faculty member David Haynes will respond to your 20-page fiction manuscript.

Haynes' most recent novel A STAR THE FACE OF THE SKY, "A compelling, breakthrough work that explores what happens when ordinary lives meet extraordinary circumstances. . . .master craftsman David Haynes at his boldest and most imaginative."—Rosalyn Story, author of More Than You Know and Wading Home.

Donor: David Haynes

Value: $1000

Staring Bid: $100

Mary Szybist Reviews Your Poetry Manuscript

Poetry Manuscript Review

2013 National Book Award winner and MFA Program faculty member Mary Szybist will respond to your 15-page manuscript of poetry.

"Not since Adrienne Rich’s early work has a collection thought so deeply about the permeable barrier between the spirit and the body, and motherhood. " wrote John Freeman in his Boston Globe review of Szybist's INCARNADINE.

Donor: Mary Szybist

Value: $1000

Starting Bid: $100

Two Tickets to Of Mice and Men and a Backstage Tour with James Franco

Two Tickets to Of Mice and Men

Starring James Franco and Chris O’Dowd. Winner receives two tickets to the Broadway revival directed by award-winner Anna D. Shapiro (August: Osage County).

James Franco will give you a backstage tour after the performance! In addition, you’ll receive a signed, first-edition of his debut collection, Directing Herbert White—poems written while studying for his degree at the WWC MFA Program for Writers!

Donor: James Franco

Value: $350

Starting Bid: $100


Twelve Books by Holden Scholars

A Table of Holden Scholars’ Books

Fred Arroyo, Western Avenue and Other Fictions, University of Arizona Press, 2012

Natalie Baszile, Queen Sugar: A Novel, Pamela Dorman Books, Viking, 2014

Ven Begamudré, Vishnu Dreams, Gaspereau Press, 2008

R. Dwayne Betts, Shahid Reads His Own Palm, Alice James Books, 2010; A Question of Freedom: A Memoir of Learning, Survival, and Coming of Age in Prison, Avery, 2010

Victoria Chang, The Boss, McSweeney’s Poetry Series, 2013

George Higgins, There, There, White Violet Press, 2013

Rodney Jack, Machine of Love and Grace, Sarabande Books, 2012

A. Van Jordan, The Cineaste, W. W. Norton & Company, 2014

Krys Lee, Drifting House, Viking/Penguin, 2012

Vyvyane Loh, Breaking the Tongue, W.W. Norton & Company, 2004

 Kathy L. Nguyen, ed., Troubling Borders: An Anthology of Art and Literature by Southeast Asian Women in the Diaspora, University of Washington Press, 2013.



Holden Scholars and their publishers have generously donated these books to the auction for the benefit of the newly established Holden Fund for Diversity.


C. Hugh Hildesley, Executive Vice President, Sotheby’s

 C. Hugh Hildesley joined Sotheby’s in 1961 and played an integral role in the company’s formative years in New York. As Senior Auctioneer, Mr. Hildesley has conducted some of Sotheby’s most prestigious sales, including the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis sale, the sale of the property of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, and the Barry Halper sale of baseball memorabilia. He has lectured widely on the art market and is author of The Complete Guide to Buying and Selling at Auction.


Debra Allbery
Natalie Baszile
Andrea Barrett
Charles Baxter
Reginald Dwayne Betts
Robert Boswell
Lan Samantha Chang
Michael Collier
James Franco
Louise Glück
Alva Greenberg
David Haynes
Elizabeth Holden
Bill Irwin
A. Van Jordan
Victor LaValle
Krys Lee
Thomas Lux
Pablo Medina
Heather McHugh
Antonya Nelson
Meghan O’Rourke
Carl Phillips
Greg Pierce
Martha Roth
Richard Russo
Harry Streep
Peter Turchi
Ellen Bryant Voigt
Rohan Weerasinghe
Eleanor Wilner
C. Dale Young


Abigail Wender &
Mary Jo Thompson
Event Co-Chairs 

Maudelle Driskell
Maeve Kinkead
Geoff Kronik
Martha Rhodes


Ellen Bryant Voigt
President and Treasurer 

Catherine Brown 
Nan Cuba 
Maudelle Driskell 
Elizabeth T. Gray, Jr. Secretary 
David Haynes 
A. Van Jordan 
Maeve Kinkead 
Peter Klank 
Geoff Kronik 
Mike Puican 
Martha Rhodes, Vice President 
Mary Jo Thompson 
Daniel Tobin, Vice President 
Abigail Wender, Vice President
Eleanor Wilner, Vice President 
Rolf Yngve
Debra Allbery, Ex Officio
Joan Aleshire, Founding Director