2015 Soirée for Scholarships

Tickets now available!


Soirée for Scholarships


Saturday, October 10, 2015



6:30 PM—VIP Cocktail Hour


7:30 PM—General Reception and Cash Bar


 8 PM—World Premieres hosted by Public Radio’s Heather McElhatton


 Until Midnight—Live Music and Dancing


Festive attire, and don’t forget your dancing shoes!



Image by Marie Pavlicek-Wehrli

Make friends with Friends of Writers.
Invest in gifted writers of poetry and fiction.
Gather with writing luminaries in America’s most literate city!


Join us at Le Meridien Chambers

The Minneapolis Art Hotel


Friends of Writers supports the Scholarship Fund


at Warren Wilson College


With your $50 donation ticket:

Attend the stage show hosted by Heather McElhatton,

alumna writer/ producer for Public Radio International.


Charles Baxter makes his acting debut in work by alum/playwright Kira Obolensky.
Robert Boswell does stand-up.
Ellen Bryant Voigt plays standards in a piano bar.


Catch the short film A Walk in Winter based on a novel by Robert Boswell, starring alum James Franco.


Win a manuscript review or a night at a writer’s cabin when you bid at a literature-steeped silent auction.


Party to live music until midnight with fiction rock stars and poets who dance.


For a $150 donation you can add:


A private cocktail reception with your name on the writers’ individual dance cards!


Meet fiction rock stars Dean Bakopoulos, Charles Baxter, Robert Boswell, David Haynes, Antonya Nelson, Pete Turchi, and CJ Hribal, and friendly poets Debra Allbery, A. Van Jordan, Martha Rhodes, Alan Shapiro, Daniel Tobin, Eleanor Wilner, Ellen Bryant Voigt, and Gabrielle Calvocoressi!


Hear writers interview one another about their work.


Preview the literary themed silent auction and place an early bid!


Benefit tickets are tax deductible to the full extent of the law. 

 Tickets available here.


Benefit Committee Debra Allbery, Dean Bakopoulos, Charles Baxter, Natalie Baszile, Tony Bol, Gabrielle Calvocoressi, Lan Samantha Chang, Michael Collier, Anthony Doerr, James Franco, Louise Glück, Alva Greenberg, Jane Hamilton, David Haynes, Tony Hoagland, Elizabeth Holden, A. Van Jordan, Margot Livesey, Heather McHugh, Maurice Manning, Scott Mayer, Antonya Nelson, Meghan O’Rourke, Carl Phillips, Greg Pierce, Martha Rhodes, Mary Szybist, Peter Turchi, Ellen Bryant Voigt 


Planning Committee Mary Jo Thompson and Dudley Voigt, co-chairs; Ann Knol, Kira Obolensky, Kara Olson, Abigail Wender