A. Van Jordan is the author of four books of poetry, most recently The Cineaste. Recipient of a Pushcart Prize and a Lannan Poetry Award, he received his MFA from the Program in 1998 and has been on its faculty since 2004.

Christine Kitano is the author of two collections of poetry, Sky Country and Birds of Paradise.  She is currently editing an anthology of Asian-American women’s poetry.  Christine teaches at Ithaca College and joined our faculty in 2018.

Dana Levin is the author of four books of poetry, most recently Banana Palace (2016). A faculty member for 15 years, she has received awards from the NEA, PEN, the Library of Congress, and the Rona Jaffe, Whiting and Guggenheim Foundations.

Margot Livesey joined our faculty in 1991. She is the author of eight novels and a collection of stories, and is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the N.E.A., the Massachusetts Artists’ Foundation and the Canada Council for the Arts.

James Longenbach Is the author of four collections of poems, most recently The Iron Key (Norton), as well as of several books of literary criticism, most recently How a Poem Gets Made (Norton). His poems. He is on the faculty at the U. of Rochester and joined our faculty in 2002.

Maurice Manning has taught in our program since 2006.  He is the author of seven books of poetry, the most recent being Railsplitter. He won the Yale Younger Poets award for his first collection, and was a finalist for the Pulitzer for The Common Man.

Airea D. Matthews is the author of Simulacra, winner of the 2016 Yale Series of Younger Poets. She was awarded a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award, fellowships from Bread Loaf and Cave Canem, and a Kresge Literary Arts award.  She teaches at Bryn Mawr.

Nina McConigley is the author of the story collection Cowboys and East Indians, which was the winner of the 2014 PEN Open Book Award. She is a 2019-2020 Radcliffe Fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard. She joined the faculty in 2015.

Kevin McIlvoy is the author of a story collections and five novels, as well as his two most recent books, At the Gate of All Wonder (Tupelo, 2018) and 57 Octaves Below Middle C (Four Way, 2017). Mc taught at NMSU for many years and joined our faculty in 1990.

Pablo Medina is the author of nineteen books of poetry and fiction as well as several works in translation, He retired from Emerson College in 2019.  He first taught in our Program in 1993.