David Haynes is the author of seven novels, the most recent of which is A Star in the Face of the Sky. The recipient of a fellowship from the Minnesota State Arts Board, he taught at SMU for many years and joined our faculty in 1996.

Amaud Jamaul Johnson is the author of three poetry collections, most recently Imperial Liquor. A former Stegner Fellow and Cave Canem Fellow, his honors include the Hurston/Wright Legacy award, the Dorset Prize, and a Pushcart Prize. He teaches at the University of Wisconsin

Christine Kitano is the author of two collections of poetry, Sky Country and Birds of Paradise.  She is currently editing an anthology of Asian-American women’s poetry.  Christine teaches at Ithaca College and joined our faculty in 2018.

Dana Levin is the author of four books of poetry, most recently Banana Palace (2016). A faculty member for 15 years, she has received awards from the NEA, PEN, the Library of Congress, and the Rona Jaffe, Whiting and Guggenheim Foundations.

Maurice Manning has taught in our program since 2006.  He is the author of seven books of poetry, the most recent being Railsplitter. He won the Yale Younger Poets award for his first collection, and was a finalist for the Pulitzer for The Common Man.

Alix Ohlin is the author of five books, most recently the novel, Dual Citizens, She lives in Vancouver, where she chairs the creative writing program at the University of British Columbia. She joined the Program faculty in 2008.

Matthew Olzmann is the author of two collections of poems, Mezzanines, which was selected for the Kundiman Prize, and Contradictions in the Design, both from Alice James Books.  A third collection, Constellation Route, will be released in January 2022. He’s received fellowships from Kundiman and the Kresge Arts Foundation.  His writing appears or is forthcoming in Best American Poetry, Kenyon Review, New England Review, Brevity, Southern Review and elsewhere.  Previously, he’s taught in the undergraduate writing program at Warren Wilson College and at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  He lives in New Hampshire and teaches at Dartmouth College.

Peter Orner is the author of Maggie Brown & Others, 2 story collections, two novels, and a book of essays, He has been the recipient of  fellowships from the Guggenheim, Lannan, and  Fulbright foundations. He teaches at Dartmouth and joined our faculty in 2009.

Joan Silber is the author of eight books of fiction and The Art of Time in Fiction. Her recent novel, Improvement, won the National Books Critics Circle Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award.  She teaches at Sarah Lawrence and first taught in our program in 1986.

Debra Spark is the author of six books of fiction, including, most recently, Unknown Caller.  Other books include two essay collections on fiction writing. She is a professor at Colby College and has taught in the Program since 1996.