is the author of two books of poetry, most recently Pilgrim Bell (Graywolf, 2021). The recipient of a Ruth Lilly Fellowship and many other awards, he was born in Tehran, Iran. He joined the Program faculty in 2018.

Debra Allbery received her MFA from the University of Iowa and her MA from the University of Virginia. Her first collection of poetry, Walking Distance, won the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize and was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press. Her collection, Fimbul-Winter, was published by Four Way Books in October 2010 and won the Grub Street National Book Prize in poetry. Her poems have appeared in Poetry, Yale Review, Kenyon Review, Iowa Review, New England Review, The Nation, FIELD, TriQuarterly, and elsewhere. She has twice received fellowships from the NEA; other awards include the “Discovery”/The Nation Award, a Hawthornden fellowship, and two grants from the New Hampshire State Council on the Arts. She has taught writing and literature at Phillips Exeter Academy, Interlochen Arts Academy, Randolph College, Dickinson College, and the University of Michigan. Deb first taught in the Program in 1995; she became the director in June 2009.

Sally Ball received her MFA from the Program in 1994 and joined the faculty in 2018. The author of three collections of poetry, most recently Hold Sway (Barrow Street, 2019), she is on the faculty at Arizona State.

Robert Boswell is the author of Tumbledown (Graywolf, 2013) and eight other novels, three story collections, and a collection of essays, The Half-Known World. He has taught at the University of Houston since 2002 and in the Program since 1986.

Karen Brennan is the author of Monsters (Four Way, 2016) and two other collections of short stories, three books of poetry, and a memoir. She received her MFA from the Program in 1979 and joined its faculty in 1993; she is professor emerita from the University of Utah.

Jamel Brinkley is the author of A Lucky Man, finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the PEN Oakland Prize and the Ernest J Gaines Prize for Literary Excellence. He is currently a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University.

Christopher Castellani is the author of four novels, most recently Leading Men, as well as a collection of craft essays, The Art of Perspective. He is the artistic director of Grub Street in Boston and has served on the program’s faculty since 2008.

Sonya Chung is the author of the novels The Loved Ones (2016) and Long for This World (2010). Currently she lives in New York City and is Writer-in-Residence at Skidmore College. She joined our faculty in 2018.

Angela Flournoy is the author of The Turner House, which was a finalist for the National Book Award and a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. She was the Rona Jaffe Foundation Fellow at the NY Public Library’s Cullman Center for Scholars & Writers.

Brooks Haxton has published eight collections of poems, one book of nonfiction, and four books of translations. He has received grants from the NEA,  the Guggenheim Foundation, the Fellowship of Southern Writers, and others.  He teaches at Syracuse and joined the faculty in 1989.