Liam Callanan’s newest novel, Paris by the Book, was a national bestseller and has been translated into German, Italian and Chinese. His story collection, Listen & Other Stories won George W. Hunt, SJ Prize in Arts & Letters, and his novel The Cloud Atlas was a finalist for the Edgar Award. He’s written for Slate, the New York Times, the Washington Post, and about chasing children’s books (in France and Greece) for the Wall Street Journal. Liam’s also the founder and executive producer of the nationwide Poetry Everywhere animated film project ( He teaches in the English department at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where he was previously department chair and director of its doctoral program in creative writing. He earned an MFA from George Mason University, an MA at Georgetown and a BA at Yale.

David Haynes is the author of seven novels for adults and five books for younger readers.  He is an emeritus professor of English at Southern Methodist University, where he directed the creative writing program for ten years. Since 1996 he has taught regularly in MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College, and has also taught writing at the University of Missouri-St. Louis, Hamline University, at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD, and at the Writers’ Garret in Dallas. He has received a fellowship from the Minnesota State Arts Board, and several of his short stories have been read and recorded for the National Public Radio series “Selected Shorts.” His seventh and most recently novel is A STAR IN THE FACE OF THE SKY. He is also the author of a series for children called “The West Seventh Wildcats.” His upcoming book is a collection, MARTHA’S DAUGHTER: A NOVELLA AND STORIES.

David spent fifteen years as a K-12 teacher in urban schools, mostly teaching middle grades in Saint Paul, Minnesota.  He worked on numerous school reform efforts, including developing the influential Saturn School of Tomorrow, where he served as Associate Teacher for Humanities.  He has been involved in the work of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, coordinating efforts of the nation’s finest educators to develop standards in the fields of social studies, vocational education, early childhood education and for teachers of students whose first language is not English.

David Haynes co-founded and serves as the Board Chair for Kimbilio, a community of writers and scholars committed to developing, empowering and sustaining fiction writers from the African diaspora and their stories.

Caitlin Horrocks is the author of a story collection, This is Not Your City (2011) and a novel, The Vexations (2019). Her forthcoming story collection is Life Among the Terranauts.  She teaches at Grand Valley State and joined our faculty in 2013.

C.J. Hribal is the author of the novel The Company Car, which won the Anne Powers Book Award, and three other works of fiction.  His collection of novellas and stories, The Clouds in Memphis, won the AWP Prize in Short Fiction. He is also the author of the novel American Beauty, the collection of stories and novellas, Matty’s Heart, and he edited the collection The Boundaries of Twilight: Czecho-Slovak Writing from the New World. His story, “Do I Look Sick to You? (Notes on How to Make Love to a Cancer Patient)” won the Goldenberg Prize for Fiction, and he has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Bush Foundation. His BA is from St. Norbert College and his MA from Syracuse University. He is the Louise Edna Goeden Professor of English at Marquette University in Milwaukee.

Ana Menéndez is the author of four books of fiction, most recently,  Adios, Happy Homeland. A former Fulbright Scholar in Egypt, she is a program director at Florida International in Miami.  She joined our faculty in 2017.

Antonya Nelson is the author of four novels and seven short story collections, including Funny Once, released in May 2014. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Esquire, Harper’s, Redbook, and many other magazines, as well as in anthologies such as The O. Henry Awards and Best American Short Stories.  She is the recipient of Guggenheim, NEA, and USA Artists Fellowships, as well as the Rea Award for Short Fiction.  She lives in New Mexico, Colorado, and Texas, where she holds the Cullen Chair in Creative Writing at the University of Houston.

Michael Parker is the author of seven novels and three collections of stories. He has received fellowships in fiction from the NC Arts Council and the NEA, as well as the Hobson Award for Arts & Letters. He recently retired from UNC Greensboro and has taught with us since 2006.

Hanna Pylväinen is the author of We Sinners, a novel, which received the Whiting Writers’ Award and the Balcones Fiction Prize. Her work has appeared in Harper’s, the New York Times, the New York Times Magazine, the Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. She is the recipient of residencies at MacDowell, Yaddo, and the Lásságámmi Foundation, as well as fellowships from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, the Lewis Center for the Arts at Princeton University, and the Cullman Center at the New York Public Library, among others. She has taught at the University of Michigan, Princeton University, and Virginia Commonwealth University. Her second novel, The End of Drum-Time, is forthcoming from Henry Holt & Co. in January 2023.

Carter Sickels is the author of the novel The Prettiest Star (Hub City Press), which won the 2021 Ohioana Book Award in Fiction, the Southern Book Prize, and the Weatherford Award. It was selected as a Best Book of the Year by Kirkus Reviews and a Best LGBTQ Book of the Year by O Magazine. His debut novel The Evening Hour (Bloomsbury) was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award, the Lambda Literary Award for Debut Fiction, and the Publishing Triangle’s Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction. The Evening Hour was recently adapted into a 2020 feature-length film by the same title, directed by Braden King and starring Lili Taylor, and premiered at the Sundance Film Festival. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Oxford American, Poets & Writers, Guernica, Joyland, and Catapult. Carter is the recipient of the Lambda Literary Emerging Writer Award, and has received fellowships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, MacDowell, and the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts. He teaches at Eastern Kentucky University.

Marisa Silver is the author, most recently, of the novel Little Nothing, a New York Times Editor’s Choice, and winner of the 2017 Ohioana Award for Fiction. Her other novels include Mary Coin, a New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Southern California Independent Bookseller’s Award, The God of War, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for fiction, and No Direction Home. Her first collection of short stories, Babe in Paradise was named a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and was a Los Angeles Times Best Book of the Year. When her second collection, Alone With You was published, The New York Times called her “one of California’s most celebrated contemporary writers.” Silver has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library.  Silver’s fiction has been included in The Best American Short Stories, the O. Henry Prize Stories, as well as other anthologies. She received her MFA from The MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson.